Home MMA NewsLatest News Unusual Disqualification in Amateur Bout as Fighter’s Cup Mishaps Take Center Stage

Unusual Disqualification in Amateur Bout as Fighter’s Cup Mishaps Take Center Stage

by admin
1 comment

In a rather uncommon turn of events, an amateur flyweight bout at the Flex Fights: Tiki Takedown Vol. 25 event in Patchogue, N.Y., witnessed a series of bizarre incidents resulting in disqualification.

During the matchup between Tommy Cox and Jason White, an unexpected mishap occurred right at the start. As the fight commenced, White’s protective cup promptly dislodged from his shorts, leaving the fighter visibly frustrated. Despite his efforts to readjust the wayward gear and resume the bout, the cup slipped out again within seconds. Recognizing the escalating issue, the referee intervened, retrieving the errant cup, and ultimately halted the fight. Consequently, Cox was awarded a disqualification victory, despite not landing a single strike in the brief contest.

Witness the extraordinary sequence that led to the fight’s untimely conclusion:

Prior to the commencement of the bout, the commentators astutely observed White’s pre-fight activities, noting his continuous “fiddling with his cup” and highlighting its improper positioning. They emphasized the importance for athletes to invest in appropriate equipment to avoid such untoward incidents.

Following the disqualification, an enraged White expressed his frustration by collapsing onto the mat, while Cox, who secured his second amateur win, wandered around the cage, seemingly taken aback by the unexpected outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about disqualification

Q: What happened during the amateur flyweight bout at the Flex Fights event?

A: In the amateur flyweight bout between Tommy Cox and Jason White, White experienced repeated issues with his protective cup falling out of his shorts. After multiple attempts to fix it, the referee ultimately disqualified White, awarding a win to Cox without Cox even throwing a strike.

More about disqualification

You may also like

1 comment

TKONinja July 17, 2023 - 8:45 pm

No strikes thrown and a disqualification win? That’s some strange luck for Cox! White must’ve been cursin’ his stars when his cup betrayed him. Gotta admire Cox’s calmness amidst the chaos. #unexpectedvictory


Leave a Comment