In a highly anticipated rematch, Alonzo Menifield left no room for the scorecards to determine the outcome. Displaying impeccable defensive grappling skills, Menifield strategically executed a guillotine choke, compelling Jimmy Crute to tap out in the second round of their thrilling light heavyweight showdown at UFC 290 in Las Vegas last Saturday. Their previous encounter at UFC 284 had resulted in a dissatisfying majority draw due to Menifield’s penalty for a fence grab.
Witness Menifield’s remarkable submission finish below.
Following the fight, a visibly dejected Crute dropped to his knees in the center of the octagon and symbolically placed his gloves on the canvas, hinting at a possible retirement. However, Crute did not grant any interviews post-fight, leaving uncertainty regarding his future in the sport. The 27-year-old has endured a three-fight winless streak and hasn’t tasted victory since October 2020, alongside significant periods of absence due to injuries.
Menifield showcased superior skills during the bout, consistently outperforming Crute in the grappling department until he found the opportune moment to execute the fight-ending choke. The referee intervened at 1:55 into the second round, declaring Menifield the victor.
With this triumph, Menifield extends his undefeated streak to four consecutive appearances, adding to his recent knockout victories over Misha Cirkunov and Askar Mozharov. His UFC record now stands at an impressive 7-3-1.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about UFC 290
Q: What was the outcome of the rematch between Alonzo Menifield and Jimmy Crute at UFC 290?
A: Alonzo Menifield emerged victorious in the rematch by securing a guillotine choke submission over Jimmy Crute in the second round of their light heavyweight matchup at UFC 290.
Q: Why did their previous bout end in a majority draw?
A: The previous fight between Alonzo Menifield and Jimmy Crute at UFC 284 ended in a majority draw due to Menifield being penalized for a fence grab, which left the outcome inconclusive.
Q: Did Jimmy Crute retire after his loss to Alonzo Menifield?
A: While Jimmy Crute displayed disappointment and symbolically placed his gloves down in the octagon, it is unclear if he plans to retire. Crute was not interviewed after the fight, leaving his future in the sport uncertain.
Q: How has Alonzo Menifield’s recent performance been in the UFC?
A: Alonzo Menifield has been on an impressive run, securing four consecutive appearances without a loss. In addition to his victory over Jimmy Crute, he has also claimed knockout wins over Misha Cirkunov and Askar Mozharov, improving his UFC record to 7-3-1.
Q: What was the official time of the stoppage in the fight between Menifield and Crute?
A: The fight was stopped at 1 minute and 55 seconds into the second round, with Alonzo Menifield being declared the winner by guillotine choke submission.